Eight Standards of Leadership

In Discipleship Journal, Don McCullough wrote: “John Killinger tells about the manager of a minor league baseball team who was so disgusted with his center fielder’s performance that he ordered him to the dugout and assumed the position himself. The first ball that ca … More


David starts off by asking a question. What qualifications are there for service in the tabernacle (v. 1)? The answer to this question is found in the remaining verses as he gives us eight standards of leadership. This psalm has been referred to as David’s “sermon on the mount.” Many scholars believe it was written to celebrate the bringing of the ark of the covenant to Jerusalem.

He answers the question in summary fashion first by saying that his pattern of life must be blameless and his actions righteous (v.2). He then goes on to spell out what such a person’s character is like: (vv. 3-5)

  1. He speaks truth sincerely
  2. He does not slander maliciously
  3. He will not harm another
  4. He will not discredit anyone (his neighbor) whom he comes in contact with
  5. He hates a reprobate
  6. He keeps his word even when it hurts
  7. He does not take advantage of a person who must borrow. This means that taking interest from a fellow-Israelite was forbidden Exodus 22:25; Leviticus 25:36.
  8. He does not take bribes against the innocent.


Can I really say that I am living a life that is blameless? Which point above is my weakest area. I need to work on that point and memorize verses that will help me to be blameless.

Psalms 15:1-5 (English Standard Version)

Warning: MagpieRSS: Failed to parse RSS file. (EntityRef: expecting ';' at line 49, column 103) in /var/www/html/familytimes/includes/magpie6-1/rss_fetch.inc on line 230

Warning: array_slice() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /var/www/html/familytimes/includes/rss/esvLookup.php on line 15

View this passage in NIV (Bible Gateway) »