The Descendants of David

God is always true to His promises. Our trust is never misplaced when our trust is in Him. Frances Havergal, the noted hymn writer, loved the Word of God and the God of the Word. As she was dying at the early age of forty-three, Havergal asked a friend who was standing by her bed … More


We find three divisions in this chapter:

1. The sons of David (vv. 1-9).

A. Those born in Hebron. (vv. 1-5)

B. Those born in Jerusalem. (vv. 6-8)

C. He also had a daughter Tamar (v. 9)

2. The kings of Judah (vv. 10-16).

From Solomon through Jehoiachin. The genealogy of David in this book establishes the connection between patriarchal promise and historical fulfillment.

3. The Royal line after the exile (vv. 17-24).

In this passage the writer traces David’s descendants into the restoration period. David’s kingdom ended temporarily with the Babylonian exile (Amos 9:11) but by tracing David’s line the writer was giving his readers hope that God would fulfill his promises.    


After completing 54 years of ministry with young people around the world I can testify to the fact that God does keep His promises in this generation the same as He did with David’s descendants in the restoration period.

I Chronicles 3:1-24 (English Standard Version)

These are the sons of David who were born to him in Hebron: the firstborn, Amnon, by Ahinoam the Jezreelite; the second, Daniel, by Abigail the Carmelite, the third, Absalom, whose mother was Maacah, the daughter of Talmai, king of Geshur; the fourth, Adonijah, whose mother was Haggith; the fifth, Shephatiah, by Abital; the sixth, Ithream, by his wife Eglah; six were born to him in Hebron, where he reigned for seven years and six months. And he reigned thirty-three years in Jerusalem. These were born to him in Jerusalem: Shimea, Shobab, Nathan and Solomon, four by Bath-shua, the daughter of Ammiel; then Ibhar, Elishama, Eliphelet, Nogah, Nepheg, Japhia, Elishama, Eliada, and Eliphelet, nine. All these were David's sons, besides the sons of the concubines, and Tamar was their sister. The son of Solomon was Rehoboam, Abijah his son, Asa his son, Jehoshaphat his son, Joram his son, Ahaziah his son, Joash his son, Amaziah his son, Azariah his son, Jotham his son, Ahaz his son, Hezekiah his son, Manasseh his son, Amon his son, Josiah his son. The sons of Josiah: Johanan the firstborn, the second Jehoiakim, the third Zedekiah, the fourth Shallum. The descendants of Jehoiakim: Jeconiah his son, Zedekiah his son; and the sons of Jeconiah, the captive: Shealtiel his son, Malchiram, Pedaiah, Shenazzar, Jekamiah, Hoshama and Nedabiah; and the sons of Pedaiah: Zerubbabel and Shimei; and the sons of Zerubbabel: Meshullam and Hananiah, and Shelomith was their sister; and Hashubah, Ohel, Berechiah, Hasadiah, and Jushab-hesed, five. The sons of Hananiah: Pelatiah and Jeshaiah, his son Rephaiah, his son Arnan, his son Obadiah, his son Shecaniah. The son of Shecaniah: Shemaiah. And the sons of Shemaiah: Hattush, Igal, Bariah, Neariah, and Shaphat, six. The sons of Neariah: Elioenai, Hizkiah, and Azrikam, three. The sons of Elioenai: Hodaviah, Eliashib, Pelaiah, Akkub, Johanan, Delaiah, and Anani, seven.

View this passage in NIV (Bible Gateway) »