Exodus - The Book of Redemption

  • Historically, Exodus records the events of Israel’s deliverance from Egypt after four hundred years of oppression and slavery under Pharaoh the king.
  • God rescued Israel through its leader, Moses, and through mighty miracles.
  • The three parts in the drama of redemption are: enslavement, separation, and sanctification.
  • There is no reason to doubt that the Holy Spirit inspired Moses to write this book. Jesus declared that Moses was the author (Mark 12:26).
  • Several basic types can be found in this book:
  1. Egypt is a type of the world.
  2. Pharaoh is a type of Satan.
  3. Israel is a type of the church.
  4. Moses is a type of Christ.
  5. Manna is a type of Christ, the bread of life.
  6. Amalek is a type of the flesh.
  7. The Passover is a type of the death of Christ
  • The journey through the wilderness with its trials and testings and with God’s provision to meet every need represents the experience of our lives.
  • Exodus relates more miracles than any other book in the Old Testament and is noted for containing the Ten Commandments.
  • Key people in the book are Moses, Miriam, Pharaoh, Pharaoh’s daughter, Jethro, Aaron, Joshua, and Bezaleel.
  • Key places are Goshen, the Nile River, Midian, the Red Sea, and Mount Sinai.



  1. The need for redemption: Pictures a people enslaved (chap 1-6).
  2. The power of the redeemer: Displayed in the plagues (chap 7-11).
  3. The character of redemption: Purchased by blood (chap 12-18).
  4. The duty of the redeemed: Obedience to the Lord (chap 19-24).
  5. Provisions for failures of the redeemed (chap 25-40).